It's Friday and I just got back from my first long run. To be honest, four miles isn't too bad for me anymore but as the miles increase each week I'm sure that my Friday runs will become gradually more brutal. Today was GREAT. The weather is perfect outside and really helps with my laziness. When the weather is this great, I can wake up and lie around the house for a few hours before going for a long run at noon and it's still not too hot. Just goes to show you that you can be far from perfect and make running fit into your life and schedule, no matter what it is. 

Thus far I'm really enjoying being on a schedule. It's great to look at the schedule each morning and see what I've got in store for the day. It takes all of the guess work out of it and gives me a concrete goal that I can check off every 24 hours. This week has been all about adapting and, honestly, it's been more about not doing things than doing things. The week started on Sunday, and it was a great day for a run. But my schedule declared that it was a day at rest and I knew I had a long week ahead. Yesterday I went to the gym and, for the first time ever, worked out without running or doing any cardio. It was a strange feeling, but really allowed me to dig into my strength training (my arms still hurt as I type this!). 

I think one of my favorite things about running has got to be the community. I have been encouraged (and continue to be encouraged) by experienced runners. Oddly enough, I found that my story has also encouraged people. And in another twist, the people that were encouraged by my story are now encouraging and pushing me harder. This may also have something to do with my competitive nature, but I have really enjoyed the encouragement and challenges from fellow runners, regardless of experience. 

Tommorow is a crosstraining day and I'll be helping Shauna's mom move a couple of refridgerators and dining room tables. Certainly not traditional cross training, but I think it will make for great exercise and I look forward to some manual labor. I've got the Race for the Cure 5K coming up in two weeks and I look forward to my first BIG race. More on that later. 

Keep running.
-shane



Leave a Reply.